

Nomination and Appointments (N&A) Committee Report

by Jozef Modelski

Main activities after 10 March 2011

Election of additional Member of N&A Committee
During R8 Committee meeting in London Tunde Salihu was elected (from 3 candidates)

> 2011 CALL for NOMINATIONS

- IEEE Region 8 2013-2014 Director-Elect (six year commitment)
- IEEE Region 8 2012 Vice Chair, Member Activities (one year commitment)
- IEEE Region 8 2012 Vice Chair, Student Activities (one year commitment)
- IEEE Region 8 2012 Vice Chair, Technical Activities (one year commitment)

2011 Nomination / Election steps

- 27 March First announcement and call for nominations (during R8 Committee Meeting in London)
- 16 April Second announcement and call for nominations (sent to R8 Committee Members)
- 25 June Final reminder (sent to R8 Committee Members)
- 11-12 July N&A Committee Meeting, Istanbul
- 15 July information about slates/candidates sent to R8 Committee members
- 02 August deadline for candidates by petition (2012 R8 Vice Chairs)
- 18 August (R8 Committee meeting)
 - approval of the slate of the candidates for 2013-2014 Director-Elect
 - elections of 2012 R8 Vice Chairs

N&A Meeting in Istanbul (11-12 July)

During meeting in Istanbul R8 Nominations and Appointments Committee has chosen candidates for the forthcoming R8 Committee elections in San Francisco as well as candidates for R8 Director-Elect (this slate should be approved by R8 Committee), and the candidates have all agreed to serve.

- I. <u>Slate of candidates for 2013-2014 R8 Director-Elect</u> (to be elected by the R8 membership in 2012, subject to the approval of the IEEE Board of Directors):
 - Saurabh Sinha (South Africa Section)
 - Costas Stasopoulos (Cyprus Section)
- II. Slate of candidates for 2012 R8 Vice Chairs
 - Vice Chair for Membership Activities (to be reelected for 2012 by the R8 Committee): Ali El-Mousa (Jordan Section)
 - Vice Chair for Technical Activities (to be reelected for 2012 by the R8 Committee): Saurabh Sinha (South Africa Section)
 - Vice Chair for Student Activities (to be reelected for 2012 by the R8 Committee): Elias Nassar (Lebanon Section)

In the case of the three R8 Vice Chairs (MA, SA, TA) candidate(s) may be added to the slate provided by the R8 N&A Committee by a petition including the signatures of at least 15 voting members of the R8 Committee. If the petition is not submitted by the candidate, it must be accompanied by the written confirmation of the willingness of the candidate to serve if elected. The petition must be submitted to the R8 Director or R8 Secretary before August 2. Awareness of the additional candidate(s) will be available to the R8 Committee before the election.

2011-2012 MEMBERS

- Józef Modelski (Poland) Chair
- Marko Delimar (Croatia) ex-officio
- Martin Bastiaans (Benelux) ex-officio
- Terje Gjengedal (Norway) elected
- Tunde Salihu (Nigeria) elected
- Samir Shaheen (Egypt) elected