IEEE Africa Area Website


Africa has eight Sections, six Sub-Sections and more than 6,000 active members across the continent’s 54 countries as at 2016. The IEEE Africa Area was recommended by the Ad Hoc Committee on Activities in Africa (AHCAA) in 2015 and approved in 2016 by the immediate past Region 8 Director, Costas Stasopoulos.   The eight sections are Egypt, Ghana, Nigeria, Tunisia, Kenya, Morocco, South Africa, and Zambia while the six sub-sections are Alexandria, Botswana, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda and Algeria.

Responsibility of IEEE Africa Area

The primary responsibility of IEEE Africa Area is to be a centralized coordinating unit for IEEE activities in Africa. The other responsibilities are to provide:

  • Guidance to the members on how to use IEEE’s tools, products and network to enhance the engineer in Africa.
  • A common voice for IEEE on the continent and provide an initial point of contact.
  • Volunteer development training to grow IEEE’s presence in Africa to benefit all volunteers.


With the Africa Area, it is easier to identify solutions to problems in Africa. More importantly, African volunteers will get more opportunities to know themselves,  network and share ideas and best practices for professional development.


The IEEE Africa Area will have a Chair appointed by the IEEE Region 8 Director. The Africa Area Chair may be supported by a small sub-committee of corresponding volunteers from regions identified by the Africa Area Chair.

IEEE Africa Area Committee

  1. Gloria Chukwudebe (Nigeria)- Africa Area Chair
  2. Shaun Kaplan (South Africa) – Member
  3. Mohamed Habib Kammoun (Tunisa) – Member
  4. Kabwe Bellington (Zambia) – Member
  5. Ahmed Darwish (Egypt)- Member