

# **IEEE Benelux Section Report July 2011**

## Officers:

- Chair: W. (Wim) van Etten
- Vice Chair: L. (Luc) Vandendorpe
- Secretary: A. (Arjan) Meijerink
- Treasurer (Belgium): D.H. (Dirk) Rabaey
- Treasurer (Netherlands): M. (Matti) Herben
- Junior Past Chair: G. (Georges) Gielen
- Junior past Secretary: V (Valentijn) Desmedt
- Member (Luxembourg): M. (Michel) Marso
- •
- Awards and Member Grade Elevation: M. (Martin) Bastiaans
- Chapter and Affinity Group Activities Coordination: C.G.M. (Kees) van 't Klooster
- •
- •
- Electronic Communications: D. (Dirk) Van Hertem
- Industry Relations: vacancy; presently in the chairman's portfolio [??]
- Membership Development: D. (Dirk) Van Hertem
- Professional Activities and GOLD Coordination: V (Valentijn) Desmedt
- Student Activities: D. (Dirk) Van Hertem
- Student Representative: S. (Steven) Thielemans 8 Student Branches (Antwerpen, Delft, Eindhoven, Enschede, Gent, Leuven, Liège, Louvain-la-Neuve), where Antwerp, Enschede and Louvain-la-Neuve are inactive, and one Leos student chapter

#### Membership:

IEEE Current Grade Description	Venice (spring'09)	Lisbon (autumn'09)	Riga (spring'10)	Prague (autumn'10)	London (spring'11)	SF (autmn'11)
Affiliate	238	270	254	268	217	259
Associate Member	188	192	86	114	121	114
Fellow	69	66	69	69	74	74
Graduate Student Member	615	482	733	544	739	671
Honorary Member	1	1	1	1	1	1
Life Fellow	18	22	22	22	23	24
Life Member	31	35	32	32	35	35
Life Senior	17	19	20	23	24	23
Member	1726	2234	1939	2351	2383	2131
Senior Member	203	207	210	214	212	219
Student Member	221	201	172	137	242	240

The current total member count is 3532, with an additional 259 affiliates<sup>1</sup>.

#### **Best practices and highlights:**

• 8 members have been elected fellow of the IEEE

Election Date:	Term End Date:
16-02-2009	January 2013
ex officio	January 2013
ex officio	January 2013

<sup>1</sup> the number of affiliates is taken from samieee, the other data is from the Geographic Membership Statistics.



- Meet the fellows event: We invited 3 of the recent fellows to deliver a short speech during a single event to present the main evolution in their field. The event was held in conjunction with the biannual general assembly.
- A new board has been elected during the general assembly
- Initiative to stimulate more Senior Members this is on-going. We have identified that the Benelux section has a disproportional low number of senior member compared to the number of members and fellows.
- IMEC Leuven has received the IEEE Corporate Innovation Recognition "for continuous contributions to CMOS technology and for innovations in global business development and university-industry collaborations".
- The Region 8 Student Paper Contest was won by Shailesh Kulkarni, from the Leuven Student Branch.
- Willy Sansen (KU Leuven) has received an IEEE Donald O. Pederson Award in Solid-State Circuits, "for leadership in analog integrated circuit design".

## **Events in the Benelux:**

## **SBC 2010**

The IEEE student branch and Gold congress 2010, was held in Leuven, Belgium (http://www.sbcleuven.org). It was a great success, not only regarding number of attendees and quality of the conference presentations, but also from an organizational point of view and attendee satisfaction. The conference included a elect-the-president debate, a director-elect debate, several speeches of IEEE dignitaries (e.g. past-president John Vig and past-president SSSC society Willy Sansen).

## IEEE Smart grid world forum

The first IEEE smart grid world forum, a high level conference for the leaders and policy makers in the smart grid field, was held in Brussels on December 2 and 3

## Milestone on superconductivity in Leiden

The Board of Directors of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE) has approved an IEEE Milestone in Electrical Engineering and Computing to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the discovery of superconductivity in 1911 by Prof. Heike Kamerlingh Onnes and his collaborators. Milestone plaques were mounted on a wall near the entrance hall of the Kamerlingh Onnes Building of the Leiden University, Leiden, The Netherlands, where the discovery was made, and were dedicated on 8 April 2011, th

the precise 100 anniversary of the discovery.

For more information on this milestone, please visit our dedicated webpage.