

IEEE Denmark Section Report August 2011

Officers:

Election Date: 01/01/2011

- Chair: Erik Stilling
- Vice Chair: Jan Madsen
- Secretary: John Aasted Sørensen
- Treasurer: Morten Holm
- Membership Development: Peer Martin Larsen
- Educational Activities:
- Professional Activities:
- Chapter Coordinator:
- Awards: Preben Kidmose
- Conference Coordinator: Erik Stilling
- Industrial Relations: Erik Stilling
- Student Activities: Jan Madsen, Neelli Prasad
- Student Representative: Mohanad Moshiya, Nuno Perez
- ECC/Webmaster: Morten Holm Jensen
- Appointed Officer: Petar Popovski
- AP03/MTT17 Joint Chapter Chair: None
- C16 Chapter Chair: None
- CAS04 Chapter Chair: None
- CIS11 Chapter Chair None:

- Term End Date: 31/12/2012
- COM19 Chapter Chair: None
- CS23/RA24 Joint Chapter Chair: Thomas Bak
- E25 Chapter Chair: None
- ED15/SSC37 Joint Chapter Chair: None
- EMB18 Chapter Chair: Preben Kidmose
- EMC27 Chapter Chair: None
- IA34 Chapter Chair: Remus Theodorescu
- IE13/PEL35 Joint Chapter Chair:None
- IM09 Chapter Chair: None
- PE31 Chapter Chair: Jacob Østergård
- RL07 Chapter Chair:None
- SMC28 Chapter Chair: None
- SP01 Chapter Chair: Jan Larsen
- TM14 Chapter Chair: None
- GOLD Affinity Group Chair:None at presen
- LM Affinity Group Chair: None
- WIE Affinity Group Chair: None
- Joint Chapter VT/AE/IT/CS: Ramjee Prasad

Membership:

As of **21 June 2011**, the IEEE Denmark Section has a total of 794 active members (52 Affiliates, 25 Associate Members, 144 Graduate Students, 5 Fellows, 3 Life Fellow, 22 Life Members, 7 Life Senior, 454 Members, 7 Life Senior, 22 Life Members, 57 Senior Members and 25 Student Members).

Meetings:

Section: 9 technical, 0 professional, 4 administrative and 0 social meetings have been held since **October 2010.**

SB DTU: 6 technical, 2 social. SB AAU: 4 technical. 2 administrative, 3 social meetings.

Activities in the near future:

- Continue with the program of Section-level serie of half-day seminars
- · Improve industry relations and attract more members from the industry
- Technically cosponsor 2 conferences or workshops in 2011
- Issue an Open Call for Nominees for 2011 IEEE Annual Awards
- Form two new chapters (Nuclear and Plasma Sciences and Magnetics)

Best practices:

- · Section-level professional lecture series for all members and guests
- Reaching out to EE students in one new university (Aarhus Technical College)
- Continued financial support to SB's
- Forming one new chapter in 2011 (Embedded Systems)
- Continue including greographically diverse located officers and SB's in ExCom Meetings via Skype

Topics to be discussed in San Fransisco:

Number of face-to-face meetings in the R8 Committee in ordert o maintain personal relationships.

Erik Stilling IEEE Denmark Section Chair