

IEEE RUSSIA NORTH WEST Section Report August 2011

Officers:

Election Date: 15/04/2010

- Chair: Vladimir Kutuzov
- Vice Chair: Sergey Shaposhnikov
- Secretary: Maxim Sokolov
- Treasurer: Yury Sepp
- Membership Development: Yury Sepp
- Educational Activities: Vladimir Safonov
- Professional Activities: Sergey Karmanenko
- Awards: George Tsitsikyan
- Conference Coordinator: Alexander Pasmurov
- Industrial Relations: Dmitry Vavilov
- Student Activities: Jury Sepp
- Student Representative: Elena Grigorieva
- ECC/Webmaster: Maxim Sokolov
- AES/SP/UFFC Joint Chapter Chair: Yury Filatov
- BT/COM/CE Joint Chapter Chair: Dmitry Tkachenko
- CAS Chapter Chair: Alexander Korotkov

Membership:

As of **30 June 2011**, the IEEE Russia North West Section has a total of 236 active members (0 Affiliates, 15 Associate Members, 17 Graduate Student Members, 1 Life Fellow, 0 Life Members, 0 Life Senior, 114 Members, 26 Senior Members and 63 Student Members).

Meetings:

12 technical, 2 professional, 3 administrative and 2 social meetings have been held since March 2011.

Activities in the near future:

- Organize a strong campaign to increase the number of student members of EEE
- Continue with publishing the Section Proceedings
- Continue with the Technical English Program for Section members
- Improve industry relations and attract more members from the industry
- Technically cosponsor 6 conferences and workshops in 2011
- Form one new chapter (Education)
- Organize the Student Paper Contest by two student branches

Best practices:

- Section-level professional lectures by invited international lecturers for all members and guests (Communications, Management of Innovations)
- Forming one new student branches (based at St.Petersburg University of Informatics, Fine Mechanics and Optics)
- Annual Student Scientific Conference (in English)

Topics to be discussed in San Francisco:

Sergey Shaposhnikov IEEE Russia North West Section Vice Chair

Term End Date: 31/12/2012

- C/EM Chapter Chair: Vladimir Safonov
- CIS/CS/RA Joint Chapter Chair: Alexander Fradkov
- IE/EMC/PE Joint Chapter Chair: Janush Danilevich
- LEO Chapter Chair: Vladimir Kuchinsky
- MTT/AP/ED Joint Chapter Chair: Margarita Sitnikova
- PEL/IA Joint Chapter Chair: Valery Khrisanov
- IT Joint Chapter Chair: Sergey Fedorenko