Report from the Region 8 Awards and Recognition Sub-Committee (ARC-8)

Region 8 Committee Meeting, London March 25th/28th 2011

Membership: Charles Turner (UKRI) Chair

Victor Fouad Hanna (France) Past-Chair Martin Bastiaans (Benelux) Jef Beerten (Benelux) Maciej Ogorzalek (Poland) Samir Shaheen (Egypt)

Aims and Objectives

The Region ARC-8 is responsible for the administration of the following awards:

The Region 8 Volunteer Award

The Clementina Saduwa Award

The Chapter of the Year Award

In general, the Committee seeks to increase awareness throughout the Region of all awards for which members are eligible, especially the MGA Awards. The number of nominations currently being submitted is unreasonably small.

Current Proposals

Under consideration is a proposal to establish the Region 8 Outstanding Section Award, for the best large Section (> 500 members) and the best small Section (< 500 members). This will be co-ordinated with the MGA Outstanding Section Award given to the best large and small Sections in the whole of IEEE..

ARC-8 also provides logistical support for the various student awards and contests. The Technical Awards Panel (TAP), established in 2009, aims to increase the number of nominations from Region 8 for the highest IEEE awards, namely the IEEE Medals and the Technical Field Awards.

Reports from Meetings

The Committee has held two teleconferences, and will also be meeting in person at Heathrow. Notes from the first two meetings are posted on the website.

The winners of the Clementina Saduwa Award, the Region 8 Volunteer Award, and the Chapter of the Year Award will be announced at the Heathrow Region 8 Meeting.

The ARC Chair and Past Chair took part in the MGA Awards Committee teleconference on February 28th.

1)The deadline for the MGA Outstanding Section Award is May 16th 2011, and nominations can be submitted online. ARC-8 will be pleased to advise Sections that intend to compete for this award.

2)This is one of the years when the William W Middleton Award is given. The deadline is also May 16th. Full details of this award, which is for outstanding service to IEEE, can be found on the MGA Awards web pages.

IEEE Fellows

A record number of members were elevated to IEEE Fellow Grade this year.

The full list of the 81 names can be found on the ARC website. Any members intending to nominate candidates for elevation to IEEE Fellow Grade can download the forms from the Fellow Committee website.

Technical Awards Panel (TAP)

The members of the panel are:

Charles Turner (UKRI) Chair, Victor Fouad Hanna (France), Silvano Donati (Italy), Okyay Kaynak (Turkey), Alexander Mikerov (NW Russia), Imre Rudas (Hungary), and Samir Shaheen (Egypt).

Several nominations for the IEEE Technical Field Awards have been submitted as a result of the Panel's actions, but it is hoped that this number will now increase significantly. Any Section Chairs that know of suitable candidates are invited to contact the Panel members if they need help and advice with nominations. The competition for the Medals and the TFAs

Charles Turner, Chair ARC-8 (March 2011)