

IEEE Region 8

Meeting

95th Committee Prague

ARC-R8 Report

From : Victor FOUAD HANNA

I ARC-R8 Composition in 2010

Chair : Victor Fouad Hanna,

Membres :,(1) Charles Turner (Vice Chair), (2) Brian Harrington, R8 Treasurer, (3) Karl S. Gudmundsson (Iceland Section Chair) (4) Samir Ibrahim Shaheen (Egypt Section Chair) and (5) Pablo Herrero (SAC Representative)

II The Region 8 Volunteer Award for 2010.

The Region 8 Volunteer Award is introduced with the goal of encouraging all volunteers in the Region and of recognizing those volunteers who have made an outstanding contribution to a particular Region 8 Section. Seven nominations were submitted. The winners are:

The Russian (Northwest) Candidate: Alexander Mikerov, award will be received here at Prague, and

The Egypt Candidate: Said El-Khamy, award that will be received in a Section event in Egypt.

The Region 8 volunteer Award for 2011 is now **open for nominations**; deadline for nominations is **28 february 2011**. For more information, see the region 8 website / awards.

III Honors for R8 Members in the 2010 IEEE Honors Ceremony

During the 2010 IEEE Honors Ceremony which was held at Montreal on june 26, 2010, one of the IEEE Medals which are the highest awards in the hierarchy of IEEE recognitions is attributed to our collegue Alfonso Farina (Italy) and two of the Technical Field awards are given to our collegues Herbert Reichl (Germany) and John W. Arthur (UK). You find below details about the three recognitions.

i) <u>IEEE Dennis J. Picard Medal For Radar Technologies And Applications</u> Sponsor: Raytheon Co. Recipient: <u>ALFONSO FARINA</u>

0

SELEX Sistemi Integrati, Rome

"For continuous, innovative, theoretical, and practical contributions to radar systems and adaptive signal processing techniques."

ii) IEEE Components Packaging, and Manufacturing Technology Award

Sponsor: IEEE Components Packaging, and Manufacturing Technology Society **Recipient:** <u>HERBERT REICHL</u>

Technische Universitat Berlin, Germany

"For contributions to the integration of reliability in electronic systems, and leadership in research and education in electronic packaging."

iii) IEEE Donald G. Fink Prize Paper Award

Sponsor: IEEE Life Members Committee

Recipient: JOHN W. ARTHUR

University of Edinburgh For his paper, "The Fundamentals of Electromagnetic Theory Revisited," *IEEE*

Antennas and Propagation Magazine, Volume 50, No. 1, Feb. 2008, pp. 1965

IV 2010 IEEE Member and Geographic Activities Board ((MGA) Awards :

ARC-8 had sent to all sections a call and several reminders for nominations for the following MGA (Members Geographic Activities) Awards - **SUBMISSION DEADLIN 15 OCTOBER 2010**

- MGA ACHIEVEMENT AWARD
- MGA GOLD (Graduates Of the Last Decade) ACHIEVEMENT AWARD
- MGA INNOVATION AWARD
- MGA LARRY K. WILSON TRANSNATIONAL AWARD
- MGA LEADERSHIP AWARD

There can be no doubt that our Region has many potential candidates whose contributions deserve to be acknowledged. We hope that many nominations were submitted .As your guideline, for future nominations please select candidates whose efforts have been much more than what one would expect of a person just doing his/ her job.

In order to facilitate the evaluation by MGA ARC, it is recommended that endorsement letters address specific activities of the nominee, which set his/her contributions apart from what would reasonably be expected of a volunteer who is carrying out his/her volunteer responsibility.

For complete award descriptions, past award recipients, citations, nomination forms, and submission guidelines, please review the MGA Awards web page http://www.ieee.org/go/mga/awards

Please send a copy of the nomination to our ARC-8 that can coordinate them for having better chances for success.