

# IEEE Benelux Section

http://www.ieee.be, http://www.ieee.nl

# **IEEE Benelux Section Report 2006**

# Elected Officers:Election Date: 12/1/2005Term End Date: 15/1/2007• Chair:Dr. Damien Macq• Junior Past Chairman:Prof. Jan Biemond• Vice Chair:Dr. Martin Bastiaans

- Secretary:
- Treasurers:

Dr. Edgard Laes

Prof. Jan Bergmans (NL), ir. Dirk H. Rabaey (B)

## Appointed Officers:

- Member (L): prof.dr. J. (Joseph) Lahr, U Luxembourg
- Member (à titre personnel): ir. J. (Hans) Noordanus
- Awards and Member Grade Elevation: prof.dr.ir. J. (Jan) Biemond, TU Delft
- Chapter and Affinity Group Activities Coordination: ir. C.G.M. (Kees) van 't Klooster, ESA, Noordwijk
- Educational Activities (B): prof.dr.ir. J.G. (Jacques) Verly, U Liège
- Educational Activities (NL): prof.ir. A.M.J. (Ton) Koonen, TU Eindhoven
- Electronic Communications: vacancy; presently in the secretary's portfolio
- Membership Development: vacancy; presently in the chair's portfolio
- Student Activities: prof.dr.ir. D.M. (Daniel) Van Dommelen, KU Leuven
- Student Branches: TU Delft, TU Eindhoven, U Gent, KU Leuven, U Liège, UC Louvain, U Twente
- Student Representative: ir.ing. D. (Dirk) Van Hertem, KU Leuven

#### Chapter and Affinity Group Chairs:

- Antennas and Propagation/Microwave TT (AP/MTT): prof.dr.ir. D. Vanhoenacker-Janvier, UC Louvain
- Circuits and Systems (CAS): dr.ir. N.P. (Nick) van der Meijs, TU Delft
- Communications/Vehicular Tech (COM/VT): prof.dr.ir. W.C. (Wim) van Etten, U Twente, Enschede
- Computational Intelligence (CI): dr.ir. U. (Uzay) Kaymak, Erasmus U, Rotterdam
- Computer (C): prof.dr. S. (Stamatis) Vassiliadis, TU Delft
- Consumer Electronics (CE): prof.dr.ir. K.A. (Kees) Schouhamer Immink, Turing Machines, Rotterdam
- Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC): prof.dr.ir.ing. F.B.J. (Frank) Leferink, U Twente, Enschede
- Electron Devices (ED): prof.dr. H. (Hans) Wallinga, U Twente, Enschede
- Engineering in Medicine and Biology (EMB): prof.dr.ir. P.H. (Peter) Veltink, U Twente, Enschede
- Engineering Management (EM): ir. R.E. (Robert) Bierwolf, MBBI BV, Utrecht
- Industry Applications/Power Electronics/Power Eng (IA/PEL/PE): prof.dr.ir. J.L. Driesen, KU Leuven
- Information Theory (IT): prof.dr. E.C. (Edward) van der Meulen, KU Leuven
- Lasers and Electro-Optics (LEO): dr. X.J.M. (Xaveer) Leijtens, TU Eindhoven
- Student Chapter: ir. Wouter van Parys, U Gent
- Nuclear and Plasma Sciences (NPS): ir. B.G. (Benoît) Brichard, SCK-CEN, Mol
- Signal Processing (SP): prof.dr.ir. C.H. (Kees) Slump, U Twente, Enschede
- Solid-State Circuits (SSC): dr.ir. J.F. (Jan) Craninckx, IMEC, Leuven
- Graduates of the Last Decade (GOLD): dr.ir. T. (Tom) Sels, Tuc Rail NV, Brussel

#### Membership:

The IEEE Benelux Section has in total 2843 active members (70 Fellows, 207 Senior Members and 807 Student Members). Membership increased by 2% in 2006 versus 2004. 11 new fellows nominated in 2006 from the section. **Meetings:** 

ExCom meetings twice a year (May/November) General assembly (with officer election) every second year; last one in Eindhoven, the Netherlands, Jan 19, 2007

## **Collaboration with National Society:**

The section continues to collaborate actively with the NERG (The Netherlands Electronics and Radio Society), agreement renewed in 2006.

#### Section focus in 2006

Strong focus on communication. Section web site reshaped and updated (<u>www.ieee.nl</u> and <u>www.ieee.be</u>), on membership grade elevation (12% more SM versus 1984). Strong support on student members. Daniel van Dommelen, received the Outstanding Branch Counsellor and Advisor Award. IEEE Student Branch Leuven received the Regional Exemplary Student Branch Award.

#### **Chapters activities:**

Activity level is very variable per chapter. Some very active sections (LEOS, IA/PEL, VTCOM...), 12 active reporting in 2006. Vic Hayes, IEEE Steinmetz Award for involvement in 802.11 standard