

Nomination and Appointments (N&A) SubCommittee Report

by Jozef Modelski

Main activities after 6 March 2012

> N&A SubCommittee prepared 2012 nominations schedule:

- 1 April First announcement call for nominations (during Spring R8 Committee Meeting in Berlin)
- **16 April** Second announcement call for nominations (sent by R8 Secretary to R8 Committee and Chairs of Chapters, SB's and AG's)
- 30 June Final reminder (sent to R8 Committee Members)
- The deadline to submit nominations 15 July 2012 (Internally extended by 31 July, specially for VC SA)
- 19-21 August N&A SubCommittee Meeting
- **24 August** information about slates/candidates sent to R8 Committee members If candidates by petition:
- 8 September petition(s) must be submitted to the R8 Director or R8 Secretary
- 22 September information about candidates by petition sent to R8 Committee members

This schedule was presented and approved by R8 Committee during the Spring Meeting in Berlin.

> Nomination process generated a strong response resulting in a total of 29 nominees

> N&A SubCommittee Meeting in Cape Town (19-21 August)

All R8 N&A SubCommittee members attended the meeting. They also had few meetings with South Africa Section Officers, as well as gave three technical presentations at universities. All visits were excellent arranged by Jacques van Wyk and Saurabh Sinha. Thank you!

During the meeting, the N&A SubCommittee has discussed over all candidates who expressed willingness to run and approved the following Slates of Candidates:

R8 Treasurer

- 1. Brian Harrington (UK&RI)
- R8 Secretary
- 1. Ali El-Mousa (Jordan)
- 2. Hafidh Al-Samarrai (West Saudi Arabia)

Vice Chair Member Activities

- 1. Christopher James (UK&RI)
- 2. Aleksandar Szabo (Croatia)

Vice Chair Technical Activities

- 1. Carl Debono (Malta)
- 2. Elya Joffe (Israel)

Vice Chair Student Activities

- 1. Pablo Herrero (Germany)
- 2. Jan Verveckken (Benelux)

N&A SubCommittee (3 places)

- 1. Goce Arsov (Macedonia)
- 2. Pierre Borne (France)
- 3. Mourad Loulou (Tunisia)
- 4. Irina Naidionova (Lithuania)
- 5. Elias Nassar (Lebanon)
- 6. Maciek Ogorzalek (Poland)
- 7. Thanos Skodras (Greece)
- 8. Hamid Soltanian-Zadeh (Iran)
- 9. Nicolae Tapus (Romania)
- > Any petition hasn't been received by September 8, i.e. the above slates are the final ones.

All candidates satisfy relevant requirements and have confirmed their willingness to run. Bios and statements of all candidates were sent to R8 Committee on September 10.

2011-2012 MEMBERS

- Józef Modelski (Poland) Chair
- Marko Delimar (Croatia) ex-officio
- Martin Bastiaans (Benelux) ex-officio
- Terje Gjengedal (Norway) elected
- Tunde Salihu (Nigeria) elected
- Samir Shaheen (Egypt) elected

9. Nicolae Lapus (Romani