

# The 101<sup>st</sup> IEEE Region 8 Committee Meeting

Sarajevo, BH 5-6 October 2013

## IEEE Region 8 Nominations & Appointments SubCommittee Report April-October 2013 submitted by Marko Delimar

## IEEE Region 8 Nominations & Appointments SubCommittee Composition

Marko Delimar (Croatia) – Chair, Martin Bastiaans (Benelux) – ex-officio, Costas Stasopoulos (Cyprus) –
 ex-officio, Pierre Borne (France) – elected, Elias Nassar (Lebanon) – elected, Maciej Ogorzalek (Poland) –
 elected

## **IEEE Annual Election 2013**

- 1 October Last day for receipt of ballots from voting members
- 8 October IEEE Tellers Committee meeting (unofficial) results
- 24 November IEEE BoD Meeting (official results)

#### **IEEE Annual Election 2014**

- Region 8 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect will be elected in this election.
- This elected individual will serve on the IEEE Assembly 2017-2018, IEEE Board of Directors 2017-2018, MGA Board 2017-2018, IEEE Region 8 Committee 2015-2020 (as chair 2017-2018) and IEEE Region 8 Operations Committee 2015-2020 (as chair 2017-2018); as a Director-elect (2015-2016) this individual will be invited to attend IEEE Board of Directors and IEEE MGA Board meetings (as part of preparation and education for the later service).
- Election timeline:
  - o April 2013 Call for nominations announced (due 1 July 2013)
  - August 2013 R8 N&A proposes a slate
  - o October 2013 R8 Committee selects the slate
  - o March 2014 The slate is included in the annual election ballot
- IEEE Region 8 Nomination and Appointments SubCommittee is recommending the following individuals for the slate: Margaretha A K Eriksson (Sweden) and Magdalena Salazar Palma (Spain). Their biographies/activities/statements are included in the supporting documentation.
- Note: once the slate is selected by the IEEE Region 8 Committee, additional candidates may be added by petition of the voting members.

## IEEE Region 8 Elections 2013

- In October 2013 the IEEE Region 8 Committee will select IEEE Region 8 Vice-Chairs for 2014.
- The IEEE Region 8 Nomination and Appointments SubCommittee is presenting the following slates:
  - o IEEE Region 8 Vice-Chair, Member Activities 2014: Aleksandar Szabo (Croatia)
  - o IEEE Region 8 Vice-Chair, Student Activities 2014: Pablo Herrero (Germany)
  - o IEEE Region 8 Vice-Chair, Technical Activities 2014: Carl James Debono (Malta)
- No candidates were nominated by petition.

## IEEE Region 8 Elections 2014

• We are looking for candidates for 2015 IEEE Region 8 Vice-Chairs and 2015-2016 Members of the IEEE IEEE Region 8 Nomination and Appointments SubCommittee.

#### Additional information

 All additional information will be presented at the IEEE Region 8 Meeting in Sarajevo on 5-6 October 2013.