IEEE R8 Committee Meeting 21 August 2014, Amsterdam, NL



Nominations & Appointments





R8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee 2014

- Marko Delimar (Croatia) Chair, ex-officio
- Martin Bastiaans (Benelux) ex-officio
- Costas Stasopoulos* (Cyprus) ex-officio
- Pierre Borne (France) elected
- Elias Nassar (Lebanon) elected
- Maciej Ogorzalek (Poland) elected

*The current Director-Elect is excluded from the process of selecting candidates for the future IEEE Region 8 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect

Today's topics

- IEEE Annual Election
 - report
- IEEE Region 8 Officers (OpCom) Election
 - action
- IEEE Region 8 N&A Subcommittee Election
 - Action

If at any moment you have any qestions, please do not hesitate to ask!!!

IEEE Annual Election



IEEE Annual Election 2014 (1)

- Candidates for IEEE President-Elect
 - Barry L. Shoop nominated by IEEE BoD
 - Frederick C. Mintzer nominated by IEEE BoD
 - Tariq S. Durrani nominated by petition
- Candidates for Region 8 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect
 - Margaretha A K Eriksson nominated by R8
 - Magdalena Salazar Palma nominated by R8

For all details see <u>www.ieee.org/elections</u>

Barry L. Shoop

Frederick C. Mintzer

Tariq S. Durrani



http://theinstitute.ieee.org/static/get-to-know-the-2015-president-elect-candidates

Margaretha A K Eriksson



Magdalena Salazar Palma



IEEE Annual Election 2014 (2)

- I5 August IEEE annual election opened
- **1 October** ballots must be received by 17:00 UTC

IEEE Region 8 Elections



R8 OpCom 2014

- Director: Martin Bastiaans (Benelux)
- Director-Elect: Costas Stasopoulos (Cyprus)
- Past-Director: Marko Delimar (Croatia)
- Secretary: Ali El-Mousa (Jordan)
- > Treasurer: Brian Harrington (UK & RI)
- Vice-Chair, Member Activities: Aleksandar Szabo (Croatia)
- Vice-Chair, Student Activities: Pablo Herrero (Germany)
- Vice-Chair, Technical Activities: Carl Debono (Malta)

R8 OpCom 2015

- Director: Costas Stasopoulos (Cyprus)
- Director-Elect: elected in the IEEE Annual Election
- Past-Director: Martin Bastiaans (Benelux)
- Secretary: (s)elected today
- > Treasurer: (s)elected today
- > Vice-Chair, Member Activities: (s)elected today
- > Vice-Chair, Student Activities: (s)elected today
- > Vice-Chair, Technical Activities: (s)elected today

IEEE Region 8 Elections 2014 (1)

Slate for IEEE Region 8 2015-2016 Officers

Secretary

- Ali El-Mousa (Jordan) nominated by petition
- Christian Schmid (Austria) nominated by R8 N&A

Treasurer

Brian Harrington (UK and Ireland) – nominated by R8 N&A

IEEE Region 8 Elections 2014 (2)

Slate for IEEE Region 8 2015 Officers

Vice-Chair, Member Activities

- Dušanka Bošković (Bosnia Herzegovina) nominated by R8 N&A
- Manuel Castro (Spain) nominated by R8 N&A
- Christopher James (UK and Ireland) nominated by R8 N&A

Vice-Chair, Student Activities

- Mona Ghassemian (UK and Ireland) nominated by R8 N&A
- Nazih Khaddaj Mallat (UAE) nominated by R8 N&A
- Andrejs Romanovs (Latvia) nominated by R8 N&A

Vice-Chair, Technical Activities

- Elya Joffe (Israel) nominated by R8 N&A
- Igor Kuzle (Croatia) nominated by R8 N&A
- Daniel Pasquet (France) nominated by R8 N&A

IEEE Region 8 N&A Elections



R8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee 2014

- Marko Delimar (Croatia) Chair
- Martin Bastiaans (Benelux) ex-officio
- Costas Stasopoulos* (Cyprus) ex-officio
- Pierre Borne (France) elected
- Elias Nassar (Lebanon) elected
- Maciej Ogorzalek (Poland) elected

*The current Director-Elect is excluded from the process of selecting candidates for the future IEEE Region 8 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect

R8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee 2015

- Martin Bastiaans (Benelux) Chair
- Costas Stasopoulos (Cyprus) ex-officio
- **TBD¹** ex-officio
- TBD² elected
- TBD² elected
- TBD² elected

- **1 IEEE Annual Election**
- 2 IEEE Region 8 N&A Subcommittee Elections 2014 (today)

IEEE Region 8 N&A Subcommittee Elections 2014 (1)

- Candidates must fulfil one of the following criteria at the time of their election:
 - be a Section Chair in office
 - have been a Section Chair within the past 3 years
 - have been a Section Chair and currently holding an elected or appointed position in the R8 Committee
- For details, see IEEE Region 8 Operations Manual, Section 6.1.2.2

IEEE Region 8 N&A Subcommittee Elections 2014 (2)

Slate of Candidates

- Rui Cruz (Portugal)
- Athanassios Skodras (Greece)
- Jacob Baal-Schem (Israel)

Additional Information

- Board of Directors and MGA position descriptions are available here: <u>http://www.ieee.org/about/corporate/position_descriptions.html</u>
- For all IEEE Annual Election details please visit: <u>http://www.ieee.org/elections</u>
- For Region 8 details, including petition processes, please refer to the IEEE Region 8 Bylaws and the IEEE Region 8 Operations Manual (<u>http://www.ieee.org/r8</u>)

Questions? Comments?



Thank you!



IEEE R8 Committee Meeting 21 August 2014, Amsterdam, NL



Nominations & Appointments



