

# Nominations and Appointment Subcommittee (NASC)

Region 8 Operations Manual, R8–6.1.2.1: The Region 8 Nominations and Appointments SubCommittee shall identify qualified candidates for elected and appointed positions of Region 8 and its Committees, including candidates for the Director-Elect slate.

# **IEEE Region 8 Nominations and Appointments SubCommittee**

#### Composition

- Past Director (ex officio): Martin Bastiaans (Benelux), Chair
- Director (ex officio): Costas Stasopoulos (Cyprus)
- Director–Elect (ex officio): Margaretha Eriksson (Sweden)
- (former) Section Chair (elected): Jacob Baal-Schem (Israel)
- (former) Section Chair (elected): Rui Santos Cruz (Portugal)
- (former) Section Chair (elected): Athanassio Skodras (Greece)

Elected candidates must fulfill one of the following criteria at the time of their election:

- be a Section Chair in office
- have been a Section Chair within the past 3 years
- have been a Section Chair and currently holding an elected or appointed position of the R8 Committee.

## **IEEE Annual Election 2015**

- Key dates:
  - 8 May Petition nominations for candidates to be elected by the membership must be received.
  - 17 August IEEE annual election ballots are sent to all voting members on record as of 30 June.
  - 1 October Last day for receipt of ballots from voting members.
- The IEEE Board of Directors has nominated Karen Bartleson and Frederick C. Mintzer as candidates for IEEE President-Elect 2016; the petition process, which could lead to additional candidates, is still going on.
- The list of candidates for all positions is available at http://www.ieee.org/about/corporate/election/candidates.html.
- *Note*: The IEEE Region 8 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect is elected once every two years in the even years (see 2016 below).
- *Note:* The IEEE Board of Directors endorsed proposed revisions to the IEEE Constitution at its August 2014 meeting. The revisions, in the form of a single amendment, will be presented to the IEEE voting members for approval as part of the 2015 IEEE annual election ballot. To adopt this amendment, an affirmative vote of at least two-thirds of all ballots cast is required, provided the total number of those voting is not less than 10 percent of all IEEE members who are eligible to vote. For more information see http://www.ieee.org/about/corporate/election/2015\_constitutional\_amendment.html.

## **IEEE Annual Election 2016**

- The IEEE Region 8 Delegate-Elect/Director-Elect will be elected in this election.
- This individual elected will serve on the IEEE Assembly, the IEEE Board of Directors and the MGA Board in 2019-2020, and in the IEEE Region 8 Committee and the IEEE Region 8 Operating Committee in 2017-2022 (as chair in 2019-2020); as a Director-elect (2017-2018) this individual will be invited to attend IEEE Board of Directors and IEEE MGA Board meetings (as part of preparation and education for the later service).
- Election time line:
  - April 2015 The call for nominations is announced; nominations are due 1 July 2015.
  - August 2015 The IEEE Region 8 Nominations and Appointments SubCommittee proposes a slate.
  - October 2015 The IEEE Region 8 Committee selects the slate in its 105th meeting.
  - March 2016 The slate is included in the annual election ballot.
  - See key dates above (2015) for approximate 2016 election dates.
  - Position descriptions are available here: http://www.ieee.org/about/corporate/position\_descriptions.html.
- Call for nominations will be announced at the 104th IEEE Region 8 Meeting in Limassol, Cyprus, 28-29 March 2015.

## **IEEE Region 8 Elections 2015**

- In October 2015, the IEEE Region 8 Committee will select IEEE Region 8 Vice-Chairs for 2016 at its 105th meeting.
- All nominations are due 1 July 2015; the three current Vice-Chairs are eligible for election.
- Unless a vacancy occurs, no new IEEE Region 8 Nominations and Appointments SubCommittee members will be selected in 2015.

## Martin J. Bastiaans