

# Awards Recognition Subcommittee (ARSC)

## IEEE Region 8 Awards & Recognition Subcommittee

- Marko Delimar (Benelux), Chair
- Martin Bastiaans (Benelux), ex-officio
- Ahmed Darwish (Egypt)
- Panayiotis Symeou (Cyprus)
- Jorge Soares (Portugal Switzerland)
- Charles Turner (UK and Ireland), Past Chair

#### History of IEEE awards recipients from Region 8

For a full database of all IEEE and Region 8 awards in Region 8 please visit the webpage http://www.ieeer8.org/category/awards/awards-history. You will be able to filter on Section, year, award, ...

### Improving the Region 8 award nomination process

Nominations for Region 8 awards are currently handled in an inconsistent way, with the nomination process being award-specific and done through a mix of offline and online forms submitted to different endpoints. In order to streamline the process, we are working with MGA staff to unite all awards under the FluidReview platform already in use at the global level. This will provide a single point of information and a standard interface, making it easier for members to submit nominations.

#### IEEE Region 8 awards - deadline 15 February 2016

http://www.ieeer8.org/awards

- Region 8 Volunteer Award
- Clementina Saduwa Award (Women in Engineering)
- Region 8 Outstanding Section Awards
- Region 8 Chapter of the Year Awards
- Additional Region 8 Student and Young Professionals Awards (award deadlines may vary)

## Upcoming award deadlines and calls for nominations

For a detailed list of many of IEEE's awards, please visit http://www.ieee.org/about/awards/all\_ieee\_awards.html

#### **IEEE** awards

For details on IEEE level awards, including Medals, Technical Field Awards, Recognitions, Joint and External Awards, please visit http://www.ieee.org/awards.

#### MGA individual/team awards - deadline 15 October 2015

http://www.ieee.org/societies\_communities/geo\_activities/awards/nomform\_award.html

- MGA Larry K. Wilson Transnational Award, one annually
- MGA Innovation Award, one annually
- MGA Leadership Award, up to three annually
- MGA Achievement Award, up to six annually
- MGA Young Professionals Achievement Award, up to six annually

#### MGA Section awards - deadline 15 May 2016

http://www.ieee.org/societies\_communities/geo\_activities/awards/awards\_outstanding\_section.html

• MGA Outstanding Large/Medium/Small Section Award, three annually (one for each category) Small = 500 or fewer members (in all member grades), Medium = 501–1500, Large = 1501 or more

#### **Additional MGA awards**

- Student awards
- http://www.ieee.org/membership\_services/membership/students/awards/sag.html
- Women in Engineering awards
- http://www.ieee.org/membership\_services/membership/women/women\_recognition.html
  Young Professionals awards
- http://www.ieee.org/membership\_services/membership/young\_professionals/young\_professionals\_awards.html

# Marko Delimar



# Other IEEE awards

- IEEE Educational Activities awards and IEEE–HKN awards
  http://www.ieee.org/education\_careers/education/awards/eab\_awards.html
  http://www.ieee.org/education\_careers/education/ieee\_hkn/index.html
- IEEE Standards Association awards
- http://standards.ieee.org/develop/awards/
- IEEE TAB Awards
- http://www.ieee.org/documents/tab\_awards\_and\_recognition\_manual.pdf

## Recent Medal (2015), Technical Field Award (2016) and Joint Award (2015) recipients in Region 8

- Alexander Graham Bell Medal Frank Kelly, UK and Ireland Section – For creating principled mathematical foundations for the design and analysis of congestion control, routing, and blocking in modern communication networks.
- Medal for Environmental & Safety Technologies *Rodolfo Schöneburg, Marica Paurevic*, and *Hans Weisbarth*, Germany Section – For significant contributions to automotive safety through crash prevention and passenger protection using sensors, warning systems, and autonomous restraint systems.
- Richard W. Hamming Medal
- *Imre Csiszár*, Hungary Section For contributions to information theory, information-theoretic security, and statistics. • **Robert N. Noyce Medal**

*Martin van den Brink*, Benelux Section – For technical and managerial leadership driving the continuation of optical lithography as the enabling technology for the semiconductor industry.

• Electromagnetics Award

*Giorgio Franceschetti*, Italy Section – For leadership in the academic world, teaching, research, and scientific activities in advanced electromagnetics.

- William E. Newell Power Electronics Award Johann W. Kolar, Switzerland Section – For contributions to the advancement of three-phase pulse-width modulation (PWM) converter systems and power electronics education.
- **Robotics and Automation Award** *Raffaelo D'Andrea*, Switzerland Section – For pioneering contributions to design and implementation of distributed, cooperative robotics and automation systems for commercial applications.
- Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award Hermann Koch, Germany Section – For leadership in and contributions to the development, standardization, and global impact of gas-insulating technology for substations (GIS) and high-voltage lines (GIL).
- **Kiyo Tomiyasu Award** *Yonina Eldar*, Israel Section – For development of the theory and implementation of sub-Nyquist sampling with applications to radar, communications, and ultrasound.

# • South Africa - SAIEE/IEEE Joint Distinguished Volunteer Award

David Bruce Davidson - For contributions to the international recognition of electromagnetic engineering in South Africa.