

Past Director

Martin J. Bastiaans

Region 8 Bylaws, R8–3.1.4: On the expiration of his/her Regional Director's term, the Director shall serve on the Region 8 Committee as Past Director for a two-year term. The Past Director shall be the focal point for the following activities in Region 8:

- Nominations and Appointments
- Strategic Planning
- Awards and Recognition
- Questions concerning R8 Bylaws and R8 Operations Manual
- Human Resources Development and Training

Additional responsibilities may be assigned by the Region 8 Director.

IEEE Region 8 Nominations and Appointments Subcommittee

Composition

- Past Director (ex officio): Martin Bastiaans (Benelux), Chair
- Director (ex officio): Costas Stasopoulos (Cyprus)
- Director-Elect (ex officio): Margaretha Eriksson (Sweden)
- (former) Section Chair (elected): Jacob Baal-Schem (Israel)
- (former) Section Chair (elected): Rui Santos Cruz (Portugal)
- (former) Section Chair (elected): Athanassios Skodras (Greece)

Committee report submitted separately

IEEE Region 8 Strategic Planning Subcommittee

Composition

- Margaretha Eriksson (Sweden), Chair
- Martin Bastiaans (ex officio) (Benelux)
- Carl Debono (Malta)
- Elya Joffe (Israel)
- Habib Kammoun (Tunisia)
- Daniel Pasquet (France)
- Magdalena Salazar-Palma (Spain)

Committee report submitted separately

IEEE Region 8 Awards and Recognition Subcommittee

Composition

- Marko Delimar (Croatia), Chair
- Martin Bastiaans (ex officio) (Benelux)
- Ahmed Darwish (Egypt)
- Jorge Soares (Switzerland)
- Panayiotis Symeou (Cyprus)
- Charles Turner (UK and Ireland), Past Chair

Committee report submitted separately

Past Director's calendar - only Region 8 related activities

- 10-11 October 2015, Ljubljana, Slovenia: 105th Region 8 Committee meeting, with pre-meetings on Friday 9 October
- 6-8 November 2015, Stockholm, Sweden: IEEE Sweden Section 50th anniversary celebration and IEEE Nordic SYP (Student, Young Professional and Women in Engineering) Congress 2015
- 12 November 2015, Edinburgh, UK: IEEE-RSE Joint James Clerk Maxwell Award ceremony; recipient: Lynn Conway
- 5-6 December 2015, Milan, Italy: Region 8 Operating Committee meeting
- 7 December 2015, Paris, France: IEEE-SEE Joint Alain Glavieux Award ceremony; recipient: Silvère Bonnabel