

## Awards & Recognition Subcommittee (A&RSC)

### Marko Delimar

### IEEE Region 8 Awards & Recognition Subcommittee

- Marko Delimar (Benelux), Chair
- Martin Bastiaans (Benelux), ex-officio
- Ahmed Darwish (Egypt)
- Panayiotis Symeou (Cyprus)
- Jorge Soares (Portugal Switzerland)
- Charles Turner (UK and Ireland), Past Chair

### Improving the Region 8 award nomination process

In January 2016, IEEE Region 8 launched a new submission portal for awards administered by IEEE Region 8. This was a joint action coordinated by the IEEE Region 8 Awards and Recognition Subcommittee with the support from MGA staff, IEEE Region 8 Young Professionals Subcommittee, IEEE Region 8 Chapter Coordination Subcommittee, and IEEE Region 8 Women in Engineering team. The portal provides a single point of information and a standard interface, making the submission process and the administration of the awards simpler and more transparent.

## History of IEEE awards recipients from Region 8

For a full database of all IEEE and Region 8 awards in Region 8, please visit the webpage http://www.ieeer8.org/category/awards/awards-history.

You will be able to filter on Section, year, award, ...

## IEEE Region 8 awards - deadline 15 February 2017

http://www.ieeer8.org/awards

- Region 8 Volunteer Award
- Clementina Saduwa Award (Women in Engineering)
- Region 8 Outstanding Section Awards
- Region 8 Chapter of the Year Awards
- Additional Region 8 Student and Young Professionals Awards (award deadlines may vary)

#### Upcoming award deadlines and calls for nominations

For a detailed list of many of IEEE's awards, please visit http://www.ieee.org/about/awards/all\_ieee\_awards.html

### **IEEE** awards

For details on IEEE level awards, including Medals, Technical Field Awards, Recognitions, Joint and External Awards, please visit <a href="http://www.ieee.org/awards">http://www.ieee.org/awards</a>.

### MGA individual/team awards - deadline 15 October 2016

http://www.ieee.org/societies\_communities/geo\_activities/awards/nomform\_award.html

- MGA Larry K. Wilson Transnational Award, one annually
- MGA Innovation Award, one annually
- MGA Leadership Award, up to three annually
- MGA Achievement Award, up to six annually
- MGA Young Professionals Achievement Award, up to six annually

## MGA Section awards - deadline 15 May 2017

http://www.ieee.org/societies\_communities/geo\_activities/awards/awards\_outstanding\_section.html

• MGA Outstanding Large/Medium/Small Section Award, three annually (one for each category) Small = 500 or fewer members (in all member grades), Medium = 501–1500, Large = 1501 or more

# Additional MGA awards

- Student awards
  - http://www.ieee.org/membership\_services/membership/students/awards/sag.html
- Women in Engineering awards
  - http://www.ieee.org/membership\_services/membership/women/women\_recognition.html
- Young Professionals awards
  - o http://www.ieee.org/membership\_services/membership/young\_professionals/young\_professionals\_awards.html



### Other IEEE awards

- IEEE Educational Activities awards and IEEE–HKN awards
  - http://www.ieee.org/education\_careers/education/awards/eab\_awards.html
  - http://www.ieee.org/education\_careers/education/ieee\_hkn/index.html
- IEEE Standards Association awards
  - o http://standards.ieee.org/develop/awards/
- IEEE TAB Awards
  - http://www.ieee.org/documents/tab\_awards\_and\_recognition\_manual.pdf

## Recent Medal and Honorary Membership (2016) and Technical Field Award (2017) recipients in Region 8

### • Dennis J. Picard Medal for Radar Technologies and Applications

Nadav Levanon, Israel Section – For contributions to radar signal design and analysis, pulse compression, and signal processing.

## • Honorary Membership

Serge Haroche, France Section – For the development of cavity quantum electrodynamics, leading to fundamental quantum physics studies and to a wide range of applications.

## Honorary Membership

Rodolfo Stefano Zich, Italy Section – For leadership in the global integration of electrical and electronics engineering education and research.

#### • Cledo Brunetti Award

Guido Groeseneken, Benelux Section – For contributions to the characterization and understanding of the reliability physics of advanced MOSFET nanodevices.

#### • Andrew S. Grove Award

Sorin Cristoloveanu, France Section – For contributions to silicon-on-insulator technology and thin body devices.

## Gustav Robert Kirchhoff Award

Marcel Pelgrom, Benelux Section – For seminal contributions to systematic analysis of random offsets in semiconductor devices and their impact on circuits.

### • Innovation in Societal Infrastructure Award

Antonello Monti, Germany Section – For accelerating innovation of energy, information, and communication technologies for the urban environment.

### Charles Proteus Steinmetz Award

David John Law, UK and Ireland Section – For leadership of and contributions to the development of IEEE Standards with global impact, particularly 802.3 Ethernet Standards.

### Nikola Tesla Award

Adel Razek, France Section – For contributions to coupled multiphysics modeling and design of electromagnetic systems.