Monthly Archives: December 2008

Region 8 Committee members in The Institute

[singlepic id=1285 w=150 h=125 float=left] Region 8 Committee members Marko Delimar (2009 IEEE Region 8 Director-Elect) and Saurabh Sinha (2009 IEEE South Africa Section Chair) were featured in the December Issue of The Institute (print and online version) in an article‘Meet The Volunteers Driving Membership Recruitment’‘. For more information please follow this link.

Student Paper Contest 2008

The 2008 IEEE Region 8 Student Paper Contest received 12 papers from 10 Student Branches in 8 countries:

  •     Austria, Graz University of Technology
  •     Belgium, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (2x)
  •     Egypt, Ain Shams University, Cairo
  •     Egypt, Cairo University
  •     Germany, University Karlsruhe
  •     Malta, University of Malta
  •     Qatar, Texas A&M University at Qatar
  •     Slovenia, University of Ljubljana
  •     South Africa, University of Pretoria (2x)
  •     South Africa, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg

The oral finals took place in Ajaccio, Corsica, France, on 6 May 2008, as part of MELECON 2008, the 14th IEEE Mediterranean Electrotechnical Conference (5-7 May 2008).

The three winners were:

  • Geert Hellings (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium) AlGaN Schottky diodes for detector applications in the UV wavelength range: hellings
  • William Vandenberghe (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium) Analytical model for a tunnel field-effect transistor: vandenberghe
  • Herman Myburgh (University of Pretoria, South Africa) Near-optimal low complexity MLSE equalization: myburgh

The other two papers selected for the oral finals were:

  • Mohamed Bahgat (Cairo University, Egypt) A simple implementation for unmarked road tracking: baghat
  • Vukosi Marivate (University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa) An intelligent multi-agent recommender system for human capacity building: marivate

The four jury members for the 2008 SPC were:

  •     Martin Bastiaans, Eindhoven, Netherlands, IEEE R8 SPC coordinator
  •     Kamel Hassan, Cairo, Egypt
  •     Carlos López-Barrio, Madrid, Spain
  •     Kurt Richter, Graz, Austria