SPC 2006

Student Paper Contest 2006

The 2006 IEEE Region 8 Student Paper Contest received 16 papers from 16 Student Branches in 12 countries:

  •     Belgium, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
  •     Croatia, University of Zagreb
  •     Egypt, Cairo University
  •     Germany, Universität Karlsruhe
  •     Greece, University of Patras
  •     Netherlands, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
  •     Netherlands, Universiteit Twente, Enschede
  •     Nigeria, Enugu State University of Science and Technology
  •     Nigeria, Federal University of Technology Owerri
  •     Serbia & Montenegro, University of Belgrade
  •     Slovenia, University of Ljubljana
  •     Slovenia, University of Maribor
  •     South Africa, University of Cape Town
  •     South Africa, University of Pretoria
  •     Sweden, Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
  •     UK, University of Strathclyde
The oral finals took place in Benalmádena (Málaga), Spain, on 16 May 2006, as part of MELECON 2006, the 13th IEEE Mediterranean Electrotechnical Conference (16-19 May 2006).The three winners were:
  1. Daniel Vikenmark (Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden) Reactive obstacle avoidance for mobile robots that operate in confined 3D workspaces: vikenmark
  2. Ex aequo:
  • Jurij Rakun (University of Maribor, Slovenia) The computer-aided detection of inferior printing quality and errors: rakun
  • Dimitrios Schinianakis (University of Patras, Greece) A new approach to elliptic curve cryptography: an RNS architecture: schinianakis

The other three papers selected for the oral finals were:

  1. Mladen Bozanic and Neil Naudé (University of Pretoria, South Africa) Analogue CMOS direct sequence spread spectrum transceiver with carrier recovery employing complex spreading sequences: naude
  2. Matthias Paulik, Sebastian Stüker, and Christian Fügen (Universität Karlsruhe, Germany) Speech recognition in human mediated translation scenarios: paulik
  3. Cedric Walravens (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium) Receive descriptor recycling for small packet high speed ethernet traffic: walvarens

The five jury members for the 2006 SPC were:

  •     Martin Bastiaans, Eindhoven, Netherlands, IEEE R8 SPC coordinator
  •     Kamel Hassan, Cairo, Egypt
  •     Zeljko Jakopovic, Zagreb, Croatia
  •     Kurt Richter, Graz, Austria
  •     Ryszard Romaniuk, Warsaw, Poland