SPC 2007

Student Paper Contest 2007

The 2007 IEEE Region 8 Student Paper Contest received 16 papers from 14 Student Branches in 11 countries:

  •     Belgium, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (2x)
  •     Denmark, Aalborg University
  •     Denmark, Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby
  •     Egypt, Ain Shams University, Cairo
  •     Germany, Technische Universität München
  •     Greece, University of Patras (2x)
  •     Israel, Technion – Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa
  •     Netherlands, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
  •     Serbia, University of Belgrade
  •     Slovenia, University of Maribor
  •     South Africa, University of Cape Town
  •     South Africa, University of Pretoria
  •     South Africa, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg
  •     Turkey, Koç University, Istanbul

The oral finals took place in Warsaw, Poland, on 11 September 2007, as part of IEEE Region 8 EUROCON 2007, the International Conference on “Computer as a Tool” (9-12 September 2007).

The three winners were:

  1. Wilm Decré (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium) Application of a generic constraint-based programming approach to an industrially relevant robot task with geometric uncertainties: decre
  2. Ales Zamuda (University of Maribor, Slovenia) Modelling, simulation, and visualization of forest ecosystems: zamuda
  3. Jan Verveckken (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium) Design of inverse controller with cross-coupling suppression for UPFC series converter: verveckken

The other two papers selected for the oral finals were:

  1. Emre Ayranci (Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark) Enhancement of VCO linearity and phase noise by implementing frequency locked loop: ayranci
  2. Michael Rapson (University of Cape Town, South Africa) Pareto analysis of controller design methodologies for integrator plus dead time processes: rapson

The five jury members for the 2007 SPC were:

  •     Martin Bastiaans, Eindhoven, Netherlands, IEEE R8 SPC coordinator
  •     Kamel Hassan, Cairo, Egypt
  •     Carlos López-Barrio, Madrid, Spain
  •     Kurt Richter, Graz, Austria
  •     Ryszard Romaniuk, Warsaw, Poland