SPC 2017

SPC2017 Results and Winners

This year there were ten valid submissions for SPC2017. The submissions were from KU Leuven (2) (Belgium) Universite Catholique de Louvain (Belgium), East African School of Aviation (Nairobi, Kenya), Budapest University of Technology and Economics (Hungary), INPT Rabat (Morocco), King Abdul Aziz University, (Jeddah), Saudi Arabia University of Nis (Serbia), University of Maribor (Slovenia) and University of Valencia, Spain.

The jury members who examined the papers were

  • Prof Paul Micallef, Malta – Chair
  • Prof Samir Shaheen, Egypt
  • Prof  Mohamad Awad, Lebanon.
  • Prof  Christos Schizas, Cyprus
  • Prof Anastas Mishev, Macedonia

The five students chosen by the jury members after the first stage in this year’s SPC competition attended MELECON 2017 at Ohrid, Republic of Macedonia, where they presented their papers in front of the  jury members and other interested listeners who were attending the conference.

The five finalists were

  • Ely De Pelecijn from KU Leuven
  • Gautier Tihon from the Universite Catholique de Louvain
  • Istvan Taczi from the Budapest University of Technology and Economics
  • Lucija Brezočnik from the University of Maribor
  • Tim Thielemans from KU Leuven.

The organizers of Melecon 2017 hosted the five students at the conference, in a beautiful location on Lake Ohrid, giving them free registration and participation at the conference functions.  IEEE R8 paid for the travel and accommodation.

From these five, the jury chose the best three. These were

FIRST               Lucija Brezočnik from the University of Maribor

Paper Title: Feature selection for classification using particle swarm optimization

SECOND          Tim Thielemans from KU Leuven

Paper Title: A Capacitive Gearbox DC/DC Converter enabling Skyscraper CMOS with Dynamic Voltage Scaling

THIRD  Ely De Pelecijn from KU Leuven

Paper Title:  High Speed Time-multiplexed Continuous Time Sigma-Delta Converters

Since there are some missing entries in the history of SPC in R8, it is difficult to establish definitely when there were other female winners. There is only one other recorded instance of a female winner and she was a co-author in SPC 1988.  So this year’s winner is the first female author to win the SPC over a period of nearly thirty years, and the first leading female author.

The certificates to the finalists were presented by Region 8 Director Margaretha Eriksson during the gala dinner on July 7.

The winning papers also have an award of $800, $500 and $200 dollars respectively given by the IEEE Life Member Fund. Further, the Student Branch of the first classified receives $250 as the Dick Poortvliet Award from Region 8.

Director R8 with FIRST PRIZE Winner Lucija  Brezočnik


Director R8 with SECOND PRIZE WinnerTim Thielemans


Director R8 with THIRD PRIZE Winner Ely De Pelecijn


Three Jury Members R8 Director and five finalists at the award ceremony

SAC – Student Paper Contest 2017 Finalists

SAC announces the names of this year’s finalists for the Student Paper Contest.

The five Student finalists are:

Lucija Brezočnik,  ‘ Feature selection for classification using particle swarm optimization‘, SB Maribor, Slovenia,

Elly De Pelecijn, ‘ High Speed Time-multiplexed Continuous Time Sigma-Delta Converters‘ SB KU Leuven, Belgium

Mathieu Jadin , Gautier Tihon , ‘Securing MultiPath TCP‘, SB Université  Catholique de Louvain , Belgium,

Tim Thielemans, ‘ A Capacitive Gearbox DC/DC Converter enabling Skyscraper CMOS with Dynamic Voltage Scaling‘, SB KU Leuven, Belgium,

IstvanTaczi, ‘ Enhancing Power System Stability with Synthetic Inertia‘, SB Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BUTE), Hungary

The five students will present their papers to the jury members in a special session at EUROCON2017, Ohrid, Macedonia, on July 7, and the papers will be included in the EUROCON2017 conference proceedings.

The best three papers will also be awarded $800, $500 and $200 for the first, second and third placed papers respectively. Furthermore, the Region 8 Student Activities Fund offers $250 as the “Dick Poortvliet Award” to the branch where the winner comes from.

One must not forget all the other participants for their effort and initiative in sending in a paper.

Soon it will be time to think for SPC2018, so to all students finishing theses at undergraduate or masters: we would like to see your contributions next year. Perhaps your name will be on the corresponding list next year to come to Melecon 2018!!

Best wishes.

SPC 2017 – Deadline Fast Approaching

Dear IEEE Students,

This document is to help authors who have been asking about the submissions this document; Information on SPC2017 submissions.

Submissions are to http://spc2017.exordo.com.

The submission procedure requires four documents. The following is a help for prospective authors of the four submissions in order. There are help screens on the website as well.

Also, the document IEEE Student Paper Contest 2017 available from this website for more detailed information and links to the SPC Rules 2017 and the IEEE Copyright form.

IEEE Region 8 Student Paper Contest 2017


Dear IEEE Region 8 Student Branch Chairs,
Dear Student Branch Counselors,

All IEEE Region 8 Student Branches (SBs) are invited to participate in the IEEE Region 8 Student Paper Contest 2017. This is the first call for this year’s Student Paper Contest.
This year SPC 2017 marks 50 years since it was first held.

Five papers will be chosen for presentation at EUROCON 2017 between July 6-8 at Ohrid, Macedonia.


The deadline to send full student papers for the contest is December 15, 2016.
(If you are not SB Chair or SB Chapter Counselor any more, please transfer
this call to responsible IEEE person(s) or reply to [email protected])

Kind Regards,
IEEE Region 8 SAC Team
Email: [email protected]

IEEE R8 50th Student Paper Contest

It is time to start thinking about the R8 Student Paper Contest for 2017. This will be the 50th Contest. Last year there were 30 students from more than twenty different Student Sections. The papers are judged by an international R8 jury, and as usual the students submitting the five chosen papers will have an oral presentation at one of the prime IEEE R8 conferences. This year it will be IEEE R8 Eurocon 2017 in July at Ohrid, Macedonia.

The travel and accomodation will be funded by IEEE R8. There will also be three prizes for the first three papers, chosen after the oral presentation. The prizes are US$800, US$500 and US$200 respectively.

The student branch of the student who wins first prize also gets as an award the Region 8 “Dick Poortvielt Award” of US$250.

So I encourage Student Branch Counsellors to encourage students to prepare themselves and participate. Ideally there would be a student paper contest organised within the student section to choose the best paper. Further information regarding deadlines will be posted soon.

More information regarding the eligibility, the rules and the requirements are available from IEEE R8 SAC.