IEEE: Educational Activities Board awards

[singlepic id=1321 float=left]Dr. Saurabh Sinha, chair: IEEE South Africa Section; Józef Modelski, director: IEEE Region 8; Helena Coetzee, IEEE EAB Award recipient, IEEE South Africa Section; Nico Beute, IEEE EAB Award recipient, IEEE South Africa Section and Gerhard Hancke, vice-chair: Member Devt., IEEE MGA.

In January 2009 the Educational Activities committee was introduced as a standing committee of the IEEE South Africa Section. The committee is currently led by Excellent Sithole. The new committee coordinated two EAB award nominations in the earlier part of 2009, and the awards ceremony took place in New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA on 20 November 2009. Volunteers of the IEEE South Africa Section were fortunate to receive both of the two awards for which nominations had been submitted. The first recipient was Prof. Nico Beute who received an award in informal education with the citation: “for exceptional leadership in pioneering, organising and managing the IEEE Teacher In-Service Program in South Africa”. Prof. Beute is the chairperson of IEEE’s Education Society Chapter in South Africa and also serves the Cape Peninsula University of Technology, Cape Town. The second recipient was Helena Coetzee who received an award in pre-university education with a citation: “for creating opportunities for the engagement of South African pre-university students in science and engineering projects nationally and internationally”. Coetzee currently serves as the director: Academic Projects at Hoërskool Waterkloof, Pretoria, and is also the co-founder of the Expo for Young Scientists. Congratulations to our 2009 award recipients and we are calling for nominations for the 2010 EAB awards (see: ).
Contact Excellent Sithole, IEEE, Tel 012 671-1882,