SPC 2013 Final Results




IEEE R8 SPC 2013 – I phase results

IEEE Region 8 Student Paper Contest 2013 was announced beginning June 2012. The deadline to submit Student Branches best papers to R8 contest was December 15, 2012. 

Within the SPC 2013 campaign the following activities were realized, mainly by emails:

  • Beginning June 2012 a SPC 2012 email call with essential SPC data and rules was sent to all R8 SB chairs.
  • The same email was also sent to all SB counselors.
  • Different versions of the SPC calls were sent to SB chairs and counselors three more times.
  • All Region 8 IEEE student members got two times emails with information about various Students’ activities, including SPC.
  • Notes about SPC were included in Region 8 News/Student news, June and December issues.
  • A SPC Workshop was organized during the 2012 Student Branch and Gold Congress in Madrid.
  • Section chairs, Section students’ representatives and student activities officers also obtained basic information about SPC, asking them to support and co-organize SPC activities. It was especially emphasized to connect when possible local SPC contests with other IEEE R8 Sections and Chapters activities.
  • Several other single activities were realized in order to make SPC 2013 more successful.

Before the deadline 42 student papers were submitted. 41 student papers were accepted, one paper was rejected (duplicate). Before the selection of the SPC Oral Finalists four more papers were excluded from grading process (three were found as already published and one was part of doctoral studies).

SPC 2013 contestants were from 22 Sections and 34 different Student Branches:

  • University of Pretoria, Pretoria, South Africa;
  • Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland;
  • University of Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia;
  • Queen Mary University of London, London, UKRI;
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Karlsruhe, Germany;
  • Technical University of Munich, Munich, Germany;
  • Alexandria University, Alexandria, Egypt;
  • University Carlos III of Madrid, Madrid, Spain;
  • University of Nis (Jt. ED-015/SSC-037), Nis, Serbia and Montenegro;
  • Technological Educational Institute of Piraeus, Piraeus, Greece;
  • KU Leuven, Leuven, Benelux;
  • Aalborg University, Aalborg, Denmark;

  • University of Novi Sad, Novi Sad, Serbia and Montenegro

  • University of Tehran, Tehran, Iran;
  • Johannes Kepler University, Linz, Austria;
  • University of Belgrade, Belgrade, Serbia and Montenegro;
  • Ecole Nationale d’Ingenieurs de Sfax (ENIS), Tunisia;
  • University of Greenwich, Greenwich, UKRI;

  • Catholique Univ of Louvain (Jt. CAS-004/, Louvain, Benelux;

  • Universita del Salento, Salento, Italy;

  • Opole University of Technology, Opole, Poland;

  • Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Eindhoven, Benelux;

  • Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Budapest, Hungary;

  • University of Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia;

  • Warsaw University of Technology, Warsaw, Poland;

  • University of Manchester, Manchester, UKRI;

  • Tomsk Polytechnic University, Tomsk, Russia;

  • Telecom Bretagne, France;

  • Arab American University, Palestine;

  • Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark;

  • Isfahan University of Technology, Isfahan, Iran

  • Saint-Petersburg State Polytechnic University, Saint-Petersburg, Russia

* University of Naples Parthenope, Naples, Italy

* ISCTE University Institute of Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal

The first phase of the IEEE Region 8 Student Paper Contest – selection of the best five papers for Oral Finals – finished beginning of March 2013. During the I phase the International Jury:

  • Prof. George Paunovic, Serbia – Chair, [email protected]
  • Prof. Samir Shaheen, Egypt,

  • Prof. Andrzej Pacut, Poland,

  • Prof. Carlos Lopez-Barrio, Spain,

  • Prof. Mario Cifrek, Croatia,

anonymously graded papers. The contributions were graded as follows:
– Written paper evaluation:

  • 45 points maximum for the technical and engineering content,
  • 25 points maximum for the paper content presentation.

The Jury of the IEEE Region 8 SPC 2013 selected the following five papers (in alphabetical order of the author’s first name) for the SPC 2013 Oral Finals:

Marcos André Pinto:Web-Based System for Automatic Evaluation of Java Algorithms”, ISCTE – University Institute of Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal

Saeed Karimimehr : “A Novel Face Recognition System Inspired by Computational Neuroscience”, Isfahan University of Technology, Isfahan, Iran;

Maarten Van de Put : “Band-to-band tunneling in III-V semiconductor heterostructures”, KU Leuven, Leuven, Benelux;

Giel J. Op ’t Veld: ”On a New Compressed Sensing Paradigm in The Modulated Wideband Converter”, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Eindhoven, Benelux

Diego Marmsoler: “On the Laws of Failure: A Theory of Compensable Programs”, Technical University of Munich, Munich, Germany;
IEEE R8 Student Paper Contest 2013 – II phase


Second phase of the SPC 2013 – Oral Finals were successfully realized in Zagreb, Croatia, on Monday July 1, 2013, during the EUROCON  IEEE Conference (www.eurocon2013.org). SPC finalists obtained up to 30 points maximum, depending on the quality of the paper presentations and given answers.

Session was reasonably well attended. The papers Power Point introductions were well prepared and presented (all within permitted 15 minutes). There were quite a number of questions, both from Jury members and from audience. The finalists’ answers were very good.

When session finished, Jury had a private discussion and awarded three prizes, from the IEEE Life Member Fund, to:


I prize:  Diploma and 800 USD (cash award amount):

Maarten Van de Put: “Band-to-band tunneling in III-V semiconductor heterostructures”,

KU Leuven, Benelux Section;


The KU Leuven Student Branch, from which the I prize winner of the SPC 2013 came from, will receive the Region 8 “Dick Poortvliet Award”, an amount of USD 250;


II prize: Diploma and 500 USD (cash award amount):

Saeed Karimimehr:  “A Novel Face Recognition System Inspired by Computational Neuroscience”, Isfahan University of Technology, Iran Section;


III prize: Diploma and 200 USD (cash award amount):

Diego Marmsoler:  “On the Laws of Failure: A Theory of Compensable Programs”, Technical University of Munich, Germany Section;
The official recognition of the winners, finalists and SPC Jury was organized during the EUROCON 2013 Gala Dinner, July 3,  2013. IEEE Region 8 Past Director Marko Delimar and SPC 2013 Coordinator George Paunovic introduced all the SPC finalists, members of the Jury and pronounced three winners. All finalists also obtained certificates that their papers were selected within the five best SPC 2013 papers.

All finalists papers were included in EUROCON 2013 Proceedings, will be included in IEEE Explore digital library and will be posted to SAC/SPC Internet pages.

After sending the SPC final results to IEEE services, the official prizes (diploma and money) are to be sent by IEEE Services to winners within the next period.

As soon as possible, complete report-information about the results of IEEE Region 8 Student Paper Contest 2013 will be posted at SAC page, including several pictures. An article about SPC 2013 was planned for Region 8 News.


Professor George Paunovic,

IEEE Region 8 Student Paper Contest coordinator