Student Paper Contest 2020 Final Result


This year there were 13 valid papers submitted by the closing date of December 15, 2019. The papers were seen by four jury members:


  • Prof Mustapha Benjallali from Morocco
  • Professor Vera Markovic  from Serbia
  • Professor Giambattista Gruosso from Italy
  • Professor Paul Micallef from Malta who is also the SPC Co-ordinator


The jury members are rotated over a period of time depending on where Melecon and Eurocon are held. The participants were from the following countries:

Belgium, Iran, Ireland, Lebanon, Malta, Morocco, Qatar, Serbia, Slovenia, and Spain.

The five papers, chosen by the jury members, that will be presented at Melecon 2020 in Palermo, Italy are:


  • Matthias Swiggers, KU Leuven, Belgium, ” A Four-Quadrant Switched Capacitor DC-DC Convertor Enabling Power-Efficient Lab-Grade Potentiostats.”
  • Maxim Van den Abeele, KU Leuven, Belgium, ” Object-Centric Street Scene Synthesis with Generative Aversarial Networks.”
  • Mark Cauchi, University of Malta, Malta, “ An Improved Variable Neighbourhood Search Algorithm for Selective Dial-a-Ride Problem.
  • Najla Al-Thani, Alreem Albuainain, Fatima Alnaimi, Qatar University, Doha, Qatar,  Drones for Sheep Livestock Monitoring.
  • Kristjan Stopar, University of Maribor, Slovenia, “Device for visual kinesthetic navigation of the blind and visually impaired.


According to the SPC rules, where papers have multiple authors, IEEER8  supports only one author of each paper accepted by the Jury for oral presentation.


The  student branches that submitted a paper to  SPC2020 are


  • University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • Universite’ Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
  • University of  Niš, Serbia
  • Qatar University, Qatar
  • University of Maribor, Slovenia
  • K.N.Toosli University of Technology, Iran
  • Beirut Arab University, Lebanon
  • University of Malta, Malta
  • ENSIAS Rabat, Morocco
  • National University of Galway, Ireland
  • KU Leuven (2), Belgium



Paul Micallef

SPC Coordinator