This year there were 16 valid papers submitted by the closing date of December 15, 2018. The papers were seen by four jury members

Professor Anastas  Mishev from Republic of North Macedonia

Prof Mustapha Benjallali from Morocco

Professor Vera Markovic  from Serbia

Professor Paul Micallef from Malta who is also the SPC Co-ordinator


The jury members are rotated over a period of time depending on where Melecon and Eurocon are held. The participants were from the following countries:

Belgium, Iran, Italy, Greece, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovenia, South Africa, and Spain.

The five papers, chosen by the jury members, that will be presented at Eurocon 2019 in Novi Sad, Serbia are


  • Antoine Paris, Universite’ Catholique de Louvain, Louvain, Belgium, ” Identifiability Conditions for Multi-Channel Blind Deconvolution with Short Filters.”


  • Ariane De Vroede, KU Leuven, Belgium, ” A 94 GHz Voltage-Boosted Energy Harvester in 45 nm CMOS Achieving a Peak Efficiency of 21.2% at – 8.5dBm Input Power.”


  • Boitomelo N. Mantji, Fiona R.A. Oloo, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa, ” Electronic Stethoscope Design, Prototyping and Testing.”


  • Gabriele Mosaico, Matteo Saviozzi, University of Genoa, Genoa, Italy, ” A hybrid methodology for the day-ahead PV forecasting exploiting a Clear Sky Model or Artificial Neural Networks.”


  • Saeed Akhavan, Mahmoud Kamerei, Hamid Soltanian-Zadeh, School of Electrical and Computer Engineering, University of Tehran, Tehran, Iran, ” Spatio-Temporal Modeling of Absence Epileptic Seizures Using Depth Recordings.”


According to the SPC rules, where papers have multiple authors, IEEER8  supports only one author of each paper accepted by the Jury for oral presentation.


The  student branches that submitted a paper to  SPC2019 are:

University of Genoa, Italy
Buein Zahra Technical University – Qazvin, Iran
University Carlos III – Madrid, Spain
KFUPM, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa
University of Alicante, Spain
Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Technological Educational Institute of Central Macedonia, Greece
Tarbiat Modares University (TMU), Tehran, Iran
Al Yamamah University, Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
University of Tehran, Tehran, Iran
KU Leuven (Belgium)(2)
Univ Of Ljubljana, Slovenia
University of Porto, Portugal
University of Niš, Serbia


Paul Micallef

SPC Coordinator