Student Paper Contest 2000

The 2000 IEEE Region 8 Student Paper Contest received 20 papers from 11 Student Branches in 8 countries:

  •     Egypt, Cairo
  •     Germany, Bochum
  •     Iran, Tehran (3)
  •     Iran, Tehran – Amir Kabir (3)
  •     Iran, Tehran – Sharif (3)
  •     Israel, Haifa
  •     Netherlands, Eindhoven (3)
  •     Slovenia, Ljubljana
  •     Slovenia, Maribor
  •     South-Africa, Pretoria (2)
  •     Spain, Madrid

The oral finals took place in Limassol, Cyprus, on 30 May 2000, as part of MELECON 2000, the 10th Mediterranean Electrotechnical Conference (29-31 May 2000).

The three winners were:

  1. Ales Bardorfer (Ljubljana, Slovenia) Connecting haptic interface with a robot
  2. Allert van Zelst (Eindhoven, Netherlands) Extending the capacity of wireless LANs using space division multiplexing combined with OFDM
  3. Christian Gunselmann (Bochum, Germany) A contribution to the modeling of short channel MOSFETs for HF circuit simulations

The other three papers selected for the oral finals were:

  • Ahmed Nabil Mohamed Al-Zeftawi, Khaled Mahmoud Abd El-Fattah, Hyman Nabil Hussien Shanan, Tarek Salah Eddeen Mohammad Kamel (Cairo, Egypt) CMOS mixed digital/analog reconfigurable neural network with Gaussian synapses
  • Alfons W. Bogalecki (Pretoria, South-Africa) Design of a waveguide-based opto-electronic integrated circuit in silicon CMOS technology
  • Nader Motee (Tehran – Sharif, Iran) Design parameters selection in the multimodel adaptive control

The five jury members were:

  •     Martin Bastiaans, Eindhoven, Netherlands, IEEE R8 SPC coordinator.
  •     Jordan Kolev, Varna, Bulgaria
  •     Javier Macías-Guarasa, Madrid, Spain
  •     Gregory Malliotis, Cyprus
  •     Kurt Richter, Graz, Austria